top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRowena Portch

The Story Behind the Spirian Saga​

When I lost my sight, I started a journey that would one day change my life. I had a great job at Microsoft where I worked for ten years. My lack of sight prevented me from continuing and I was forced to leave my position as their senior technical editor. This, of course, started a chain reaction of challenges. We lost our five-acre ranch, our cars, and horses. We sold whatever was left and started all over again.


I was earning my doctorate in natural medicine at the time and struggled to find a doctor who would take me on as an apprentice. Using the severance pay Microsoft gave me, my husband and I purchased a medical clinic. In six short months, the clinic was debt free and making a profit. I was making medicines and treating clients in injury recovery. The entire experience was rewarding.


Now that we were settled and making good money again, I decided to write my story. It started off as an autobiography and I was nearly done with it when my computer presented the blue screen of death. I ended up losing everything.


Nearly in tears, I joined my family by the bonfire and told them the sad news. My youngest son shrugged and said, "Well, Mom, it was kind of boring anyway." After a brief moment of silence, we all started laughing. I then suggested making the story into more of a fiction novel. We all started talking about the funny scenes I could include. From that, The Spirian Saga was born. It is a story based on my life experiences.


The characters in my book are based on real people. Skye plays the part of me, while Khalen depicts my husband. Maiyun plays the part of my guide dog Skye-Bear, and dear old Shanuk plays himself. Arcadie is my father, Eve is my mother. The list goes on and on. So, when you read this saga, just know that every character is as real as life itself. After all, reality is just an illusion.


9 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page